Connect with us


Causey, Peevy cap senior year with Joe Sewell Award

Story By Griffin Pritchard | Publisher
Photos by Thomas Stabler | CAScoreboard Photographer and
The Joe Sewell Memorial Award Committee

WETUMPKA — And the winners are … On a night where nature’s wrath threatened the state, the show went on inside the Wetumpka Civic Center. Student-athletes – Elmore County’s Best and Brightest – gathered with socially distanced friends and family to find out who would be named the 2021 Joe Sewell Memorial Award winner. 

Morgan Causey and Carson Peevy, from Wetumpka High and Edgewood Academy respectively, were named the Overall Girls and Boys Award Winner. 

Causey, after posing for photos, handed her award off and stepped to the podium: “Thank you first to God and to my parents and to my teachers and to everyone that has been there along the way. This is such a tremendous honor.”

Causey – who plays volleyball, basketball and competes as part of the Indians Track and Field team (where she recently won a 6A State Champion as the area’s best at the javelin throw) is the daughter of Rashawn Blassingame and Christopher Causey. She attends Saint James Family Worship Center where she participates in a myriad of activities and also has volunteered with the Elmore County Schools Feeding Program. She’s a (first-runner up) Distinguished Young Woman of Elmore county and a member of the Theatre Guild and the Wetumpka High SGA. Her academics are just as impressive as the rest of her resume with a GPA that well surpasses 4.0 and was a 9th-grade certificate winner. She’s received scholarship offers to Ole Miss, Clemson, Alabama and LSU (where she plans to attend in the fall). 

Peevy was the next to have his name called. 

“Wow, that’s incredible,” Peevy said with a laugh. “I just want to thank the board for choosing me amongst such deserving candidates. It’s a great honor.” 

Peevy – the son of Clint and Melinda Peevy –  is also a multi-sport athlete competing for the Wildcats in football, basketball and as a part of the track and field team. He attends Crossroads Community Church, volunteers for the YMCA and with the Elmore County Food Pantry. He’s also a Boys’ State nominee, a member of the National Honor Society, the Edgewood Scholars’ Bowl Team, FCA and First Priority and is the Vice President of his class. 

He’s received scholarships to attend the University of Alabama, UAB, Auburn, Montevallo and Huntingdon. 

Like Causey, Peevy was also a 9th Grade Certificate winner.

The Joe Sewell Memorial Award was established in 2005 to recognize outstanding high school senior athletes in Elmore County who have consistently represented the highest ideals of Christian leadership.  Each year, one male and one female senior from Elmore County high schools are chosen for the top honor – the Joe Sewell Memorial Award and $3,000 John Sewell Scholarship.  

Male and female category winners are also selected for academics, athletics, leadership, and church, community, and character, with each student receiving a $1000 scholarship.  The Joe Sewell Memorial Award is the only program of its kind in the River Region that presents scholarship money in conjunction with the awards to overall and category winners.

Below is a list of category award winners. 

2021 Joe Sewell Memorial Award Winners
Boy’s Leadership Award…Richard Matthew HicksHoltville High School
Boy’s Academic Award…Samuel Brian BarletElmore County High School
Boy’s Church, Community, & Character Award…Paxton Lee PriceHoltville High School
Boy’s Athletic Award…Benjamin Kyzer BarkerWetumpka High School
Boy’s Overall Award…Carson Michael PeevyEdgewood Academy
Girl’s Leadership Award…Rikki Lee Mc AdamsStanhope Elmore High School
Girl’s Academic Award…Macy Elizabeth AdamsEdgewood Academy
Girl’s Church, Community, & Character Award…Erika Renae BroadwayHoltville High School
Girl’s Athletic Award…Alexis LoveTallassee High School
Girl’s Overall Award…Morgan McKinlee CauseyWetumpka High School

Support Our Family!

These businesses support us, please support them!
BRowns Pest Control



More in Awards