Connect with us


Thompson’s Ryan Peppins wins Mr. Football award

MONTGOMERY — Thompson’s Ryan Peppins was named the state’s Mr. Football by the Alabama Sports Writers Association on Thursday.

Peppins, along with each classification’s back and lineman of the year, were honored at a luncheon banquet at the Montgomery Renaissance sponsored by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors & Coaches Association.

Peppins, a senior receiver, helped his team win a third straight Class 7A championship this season. He totaled 80 receptions for 1,379 yards and 23 touchdowns for the Warriors, who finished 13-1.

His career featured 172 receptions for 2,755 yards and 43 touchdowns, plus 326 return yards with a TD and 11 rushes for 94 yards.

Peppins was also the 7A back of the year, marking the fifth straight season that a Thompson player has won that award.

Peppins and teammates Jeremiah Alexander and Conner Harrell were on the Super All-State list, which recognizes the top 12 players regardless of classification.

Thompson is just the second team in ASWA All-State history to have three Super All-State players in the same season. In 2005, Homewood had David Ross, Austin Hubbard and Tim Hawthorne make it.

Mr. Football
Ryan Peppins, Thompson

Backs of the year
7A: Ryan Peppins, Thompson
6A: Earl Woods, Hueytown
5A: DeMarcus Lacey, Pleasant Grove
4A: Walter Taylor III, Jackson
3A: Jack Hayes, Piedmont
2A: Logan Washburn, Cleveland
1A: Brayden Kyle, Decatur Heritage
AISA: Landon Sims, Escambia Academy

Linemen of the year
7A: Jeremiah Alexander, Thompson
6A: Trevon McAlpine, Saraland
5A: Khurtiss Perry, Pike Road
4A: Michael Towner, Vigor
3A: TJ Dudley, Catholic-Montgomery
2A: Caden Story, Lanett
1A: Kedrick Brown, Brantley
AISA: Kross Colley, Chambers Academy

Super All-State
(top players regardless of school’s classification)
Ryan Peppins, Thompson
Earl Woods, Hueytown
Khurtiss Perry, Pike Road
Jeremiah Alexander, Thompson
Will Stokes, Madison Academy
Walter Taylor III, Jackson
Emmanuel Henderson, Geneva Co.
Conner Harrell, Thompson
Jack Hayes, Piedmont
Khalib Johnson, Clay-Chalkville
TJ Dudley, Catholic-Montgomery
Justice Finkley, Hewitt-Trussville

2021: Ryan Peppins, Thompson receiver
2020: GaQuincy McKinstry, Pinson Valley receiver/defensive back
2019: Kristian Story, Lanett quarterback
2018: Bo Nix, Pinson Valley quarterback
2017: Asa Martin, Austin running back
2016: La’Damian Webb, Beauregard running back
2015: Tyler Johnston, Spanish Fort quarterback

2014: Kerryon Johnson, Madison Academy running back
2013: Racean Thomas, Oxford running back
2012: Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery quarterback
2011: T.J. Yeldon, Daphne running back
2010: Jamal Golden, Wetumpka quarterback

2009: Coty Blanchard, Cherokee County quarterback
2008: Clint Moseley, Leroy quarterback
2007: Julio Jones, Foley wide receiver
2006: Larry Smith, Prattville quarterback
2005: Andre Smith, Huffman offensive lineman

2004: Jarod Bryant, Hoover quarterback
2003: Chris Nickson, Pike County quarterback
2002: JaMarcus Russell, Williamson quarterback
2001: Brandon Cox, Hewitt-Trussville quarterback
2000: Carnell Williams, Etowah running back

1999: Cory Whisenant, Springville running back
1998: DeMarco McNeil, Blount defensive lineman
1997: Mac Campbell, Alexandria running back
1996: Antoneyo Williams, Central-Tuscaloosa running back
1995: Gorman Thornton, Jeff Davis tight end

1994: Dawud Rasheed, Shades Valley running back
1993: Thomas Banks, West Jefferson running back
1992: Freddie Kitchens, Etowah quarterback
1991: Robert Davis, Homewood running back
1990: David Palmer, Jackson-Olin wide receiver

1989: Steven Coleman, Pike County running back
1988: Darrell “Lectron” Williams, Vigor running back
1987: Robert Jones, Parker running back
1986: Larry Ware, Lee-Montgomery running back
1985: Pierre Goode, Hazlewood running back

1984: Roderick Green, Gardendale wide receiver
1983: Freddy Weygand, Emma Sansom wide receiver
1982: Tommy Compton, Vigor quarterback

Scores and stories from around Central Alabama. More than just a sports Article.

Support Our Family!

These businesses support us, please support them!
BRowns Pest Control



More in Awards